top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. Judy

WELLNESS TIP: Plant Something

Updated: Oct 14, 2019


Did you know growing plants can help lift the spirit, sooth the mind, and promote #wellness?⁣

In honor of #MentalWellness Awareness Week, I’m planting something new in my garden. I don’t have a green thumb, but it is so lovely to take care of something that grows and helps sustain our lives (bye, bye, CO2 and hello oxygen)! ⁣ Gardening gives us a sense of responsibility and creates a stronger bond between us and nature. It is a great #mindful activity that encourages us to be present, which helps #decreasestress. And, it promotes brain health, keeping our minds active, and strengthens our problem solving, sensory awareness, learning, and attention. So what’s not to like?⁣ Whether you have no backyard or a big one, you can find a way to grow a plant or two. They don’t take too much room and with just a little TLC from you can really blossom and bloom. ⁣ When my grandmother who is one of my favorite people in the world passed away, I planted a small tree in her remembrance. It was 2 feet tall when I planted it, and now it is 6 feet tall 3 years later. It is truly incredible to see that life can continue in this very real way in front of my very eyes.⁣ Here are my top plants to boost #MentalHealth!⁣ 1. Jasmine - improves sleep quality⁣ 2. Lavender - lowers anxiety and stress⁣ 3. Rosemary to improve memory⁣ 4. Aloe vera - to support a healthy immune system⁣ 5. Snake plant - to improve air quality⁣

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2020 JUDY HO

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
bottom of page