top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. Judy

WELLNESS TIP: Benefits of Taking a Walk Down Memory Lane


Did you know that a walk down memory lane can help boost #mood and bring your values to the forefront? One of my favorite weekend activities is to take a brief trip down memory lane. Sometimes I’ll read a couple of handwritten card that people have sent me (yes, I save these!). Other times, I’ll take a peek at some photos capturing wonderful memories of the past. Or, I’ll get together with a family member or friend and hear their stories of their favorite memories. When I volunteered at assistant living facilities as a college student, one of my most treasured activities was to sit and listen to all of the wisdom and the beautiful stories of the residents. In all cases, these activities give you a serious case of the warm fuzzies, AND you get a chance to peek into the #values that motivate and strengthen you. ⁣ I love having photos up around the house that remind me of my favorite memories. Behind me is a photo of our wedding day! By revisiting some of our favorite memories, we remember what’s truly important to us. It brings our priorities into sharp focus, and also gives us motivation to seek more prosocial, values-driven experiences that are rooted in who we stand for at the core, away from the onslaught of messages from external forces telling us who we should be and what we should be doing. ⁣ Visualizing past positive memories is a form of #meditation too. Try spending a few minutes remembering one of your favorite memories, and give it as much descriptive and sensory detail as you can. Whenever you’re feeling a bit down or stressed, come back to this favorite memory for a great reset. ⁣ Collect a list of positive memories so that you always have one at the ready when you want to take a stroll down memory lane. It’s a simple wellness hack that people don’t use enough! ⁣

535 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2020 JUDY HO

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
bottom of page